Padma Awards 2017 – All you need to know

The Padma Awards, instituted in the year 1954, is announced every year on the occasion of Republic Day. It is one of the two civilian awards instituted by the Government of India, the other being the Bharat Ratna. The Padma award is given in three categories:

  1. Padma Vibhushan for exceptional and distinguished service
  2. Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of a high order
  3. Padma Shri for distinguished service.

The awards are presented by the President of India usually in the month of March/April every year where the awardees are presented a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medallion. The recipients are also given a small replica of the medallion, which they can wear during any ceremonial/State functions etc., if the awardees so desire. The names of the awardees are published in the Gazette of India on the day of the presentation ceremony. The total number of awards to be given in a year (excluding posthumous awards and to NRI/foreigners/PIOs) should not be more than 120.
The award does not amount to a title and cannot be used as a suffix or prefix to the awardees’ name. In fact, it is illegal to do so and there have been instances where responding to a PIL the court has ordered the removal of such usage. In many cases, such usage is not under directive by the awardee but an ignorant mistake made by organisers of events where the awardees are present wanting to pay obeisance to them.

The Padma Awards are conferred on the recommendations made by the Padma Awards Committee, which is consitituted by the Prime Minister every year. The Padma Awards Committee is headed by the Cabinet Secretary and includes Home Secretary, Secretary to the President and four to six eminent persons as members. The recommendations of the committee are submitted to the Prime Minister and the President of India for approval.

Padma Awards 2017

This year 7 Padma Vibhushan, 7 Padma Bhushan and 75 Padma Shri awards will be conferred, a total of 89 awards.

The largest number of awardees are from Maharashta (8), followed by Gujarat, Karnataka and Tamilnadu (7 each). There are no awardees this year from five states namely, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Himachal Pradesh, Mizoram and Nagaland.


Of the 89 awards, 22 have been given in the field of art (includes Music, Dance, Painting, Cinema etc), 15 awards in literature & education, 9 each in medicine and social work and 8 awards in sports.



2017 Padma Vibhushan Awardees

Sr. No Name Field State
1 Prof. Udipi  Ramachandra Rao Science & Engineering Karnataka
2 Shri K J Yesudas Art-Music Kerala
3 Late Shri Sunder Lal Patwa
Public Affairs Madhya
4 Shri Sharad Pawar Public Affairs Maharashtra
5 Late Shri PA Sangma
Public Affairs Meghalaya
6 Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev Others-Spiritualism Tamil Nadu
7 Shri Murli Manohar Joshi Public Affairs Uttar  Pradesh


2017 Padma Bhushan Awardees

Sr. No Name Field State
1 Swami Niranjana Nanda
Others-Yoga Bihar
2 Shri Ratna Sundar Maharaj Others-Spiritualism Gujarat
3 Shri Tehemton Udwadia Medicine Maharashtra
4 Shri Vishwa  Mohan Bhatt Art-Music Rajasthan
5 Late Shri Cho Ramaswamy
Literature & Education – Journalism Tamil Nadu
6 H.R.H. Princess  Maha Chakri
Sirindhorn (Foreigner)
Literature & Education Thailand
7 Prof. (Dr.) Devi Prasad
Literature & Education Uttar  Pradesh

The full list of Padma awardess as released by the Ministry of Home Affairs may be accessed here.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s